[artsyfangirl GOES TO] KCC Hallyu Fest 2012

Posted on July 30, 2012

3


The Korean Cultural Center in the Philippines celebrated their 1st year anniversary by hosting an almost month-long K-pop inspired events and activities that will surely make all fangirls and fanboys happy. They even brought K-pop rookie group “BOYFRIEND” to the Philippines last Saturday, July 28, 2012 for their Hallyu Fest 2012! Yours truly was able to attend the said event thanks to a good friend of mine. Tickets for this event was absolutely FREE but is available on a first-come, first-served basis according to KCCP’s facebook page. The said event will feature a K-pop Dance Cover Festival, a My Best KCC Moment Photo Contest, a Koreanovela Cosplay Contest, and of course a wonderful performance from k-pop group “BOYFRIEND.”

As I arrived at the venue last Saturday, I was stunned by the size of the crowd. I never really thought that it would be so big! As I waited inside a nearby ice cream parlor, I can definitely feel the glass walls of the shop vibrating/shaking from the fan chants and the wild jumping from the crowd…it was a total mayhem! Luckily I was able to get in without much of a fuss.

The crowd went wild when Boyfriend came out and went to the judges’ stand as they are also panelists for the dance cover contest. My heart almost jumped out of my chest when I saw them but I had to keep calm so that I can take good pics. ^^ As the dance cover contest progressed, I was truly surprised to see the contestants rock the the stage to perform k-pop dance choreography flawlessly.

 

 

Their passion and love for k-pop really showed as they perform on-stage. The fans even sang-along with the song being performed, which seemed to surprise the judges. Some contestants even traveled all the way to Manila, just to be able to join the contest. It was a sight to see the fans torn between watching the performances and watching Boyfriend’s reactions. ^^

 

In between dance cover performances they raffled various famous K-branded products sponsored by Etude House, Nature Republic, Skin Food, Missha etc., featured “Tagalized” famous k-drama OST tracks, chose the winners of the “Koreanovela Cosplay Contest”,  and they also announced the winners of the “My Best KCC Moment” photo contest.

Then the moment everyone has been waiting for arrived. Boyfriend went on-stage and performed two songs for all the fangirls and fanboys!

They also had a brief interview wherein fans were able to learn more about their favorite group.

Overall it was a really fun experience. I enjoyed every aspect of the event and I do hope that KCCP will host another similar event! Congratulations to KCCP on their first year anniversary and I do wish them all the best!

P.S. There are a lot of photos for this event…I will update this post once I find a nice free online gallery support ^^

